Wrapping Things Up, And Assorted Details

Needless to say, I didn’t get that job.

This, along with another last minute snafu regarding my final paycheck (“I thought you said you were working next week…”) and a night of two-fisted monkey death punch power-drinking led me to the fact that if I wanted people to follow along on this journey, I had to write about it more.

A LOT more. Once a week updates just won’t cut it.

As an example, there was the discussion about gear. Since a quick trip to Dick’s Sporting Goods viewed through the lens of a hangover so brutal my red eyes looked like traffic lights might be of interest, We’ll wander through that today.

Original plan called for hammock/tarp AND a tent. Now that my budget has been reduced to 15% of what I originally planned, there was no money for both. It was one or the other.

Decisions looming with a deadline brutally close, imagine hungover hero standing there, looking at prices, judging weight versus space concerns. I ended up going with the hammock/tarp combo for one simple reason.

Even in a tent, sleeping on the ground sucks bongwater.

Jesus, do I really NEED a first aid kit? Hiking alone and first aid is a zero sum game. If you’re going to get an infection, not much in that kit is going to help you. If you get hurt bad enough to REALLY need the stuff in a kit, you are well and truly fucked. I settled for a small kit with just a few items.

New sleeping bag, good to 30 degrees. Sewing kit, times two. Spare fishhooks. Extra paracord. A minimalist camp stove with a couple of tins of fuel. A small hand shovel. $180 bucks later, I trudged toward the bus stop carrying the load.

Luckily, friend/bartender Chelsea from Amigos saw me carrying the load and offered me a ride intown in her new jeep. Sweet blessings from above can only account for a pretty young hot chick in a jeep pulling over to pick up a heavily laden drunkard.

I have to be out of the apartment Monday, and even at full speed I’m stuck here until Wednesday. A couple of days of urban camping shaking out the gear isn’t a bad idea, or a trip to the lake for a couple of days.

That only leaves one critical decision.

Destination.

Leave a Reply

